Press On

Insight for the Journey

My 2009 Goal January 1, 2009

Filed under: Beginnings,Priorities,Purpose — Deb @ 9:50 pm

Another year…another fresh start…

The door of 2008 has closed behind us and we stand on the front porch looking out over a wide open space. Each of us has been given a gift of 365 days to create and execute this new journey. How will you respond to your new opportunity?

Some people struggle to get off the porch. Instead of stepping out into new territory, they press their noses to the window and look back focusing on the past. Are you fixated on hurtful and painful memories? Do you stare longingly at the “good old days?” Do you sit down in protest refusing to change or grow? Does the fear of the unknown paralyze you? God knows the plans He has for you. He is ready to give you a hope and a future. He’s doing a new thing. Do you not perceive it? Trust Him. He can make way in the desert and streams in the wasteland. He wants to complete the good work He began in you. But He is waiting for you to take the next step. If you don’t, you will find yourself sitting on the same porch in the same position 365 days from now.

Others jump off the porch and start running wildly. Instead of slowing down and asking where they are headed, they simply run. Many of their friends are doing it, so they join in. Do you find yourself out of breath? Are you exhausted by the pace of life? Are you pursuing things that will last? Maybe you are fast and have outrun those around you. Now you find yourself running alone. Are you lonely? Are you driven to accumulate possessions and accomplishments? Are you longing to impress? God says that boasting of what you have and do comes from the world’s philosophy, but doesn’t line up with His. His yoke is easy. His burden is light. The world and its desires pass away, so why run so hard after them. If you do, eventually you realize that you have been running in circles and are right back to where you began; making no true progress.

My desire this year is to step off the porch and walk with a determined cadence to the voice of my Savior. I don’t know exactly where that will lead me. And that’s okay. I will delight in being in the presence of my Father. Whether I turn to the right or the left, I will listen for His voice telling me, “This is the way; walk in it.” When I face obstacles, roadblocks, storms along the way…when I am afraid, I will trust in Him, in God whose word I praise. In God I trust; I will not be afraid. The rain will fall on both the just and the unjust. Every day will not be sunny. But when the skies are a brilliant blue and the sun is hugging me with its warmth, I will smile and rejoice. I will slow down and express the fullness of my gratitude to my amazingly creative God. I will take time to sit by the still waters and I will canon-ball, like a child, into lakes of refreshing. I want to walk hand-in-hand, step-by-step with the Spirit allowing Him to transform me. I long to express His love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, and self-control with those I see along my path. This is my goal for 2009…Want to join me?

 

2 Responses to “My 2009 Goal”

  1. Faith Says:

    Amen!
    I, too, am planning on slowing down, trusting Him more and more, as I take His Hand and walk, and putting my daughters/their futures in the Hands of Jesus. And I even plan on (literally!) sitting by those still waters! (hiking season, here I come!! 🙂 )
    Happy New Year, Deb.

  2. Hope42Day Says:

    I started this doing these exact things last year. What a difference it has made in my life! But every once in a while I slip up…thanks for reminding me what it should be all about.
    Blessings and Peace…


Leave a comment